The Experiment, Queenless hive

General Discussion of Diary Posts and Questions on Beekeeping Matters
BadBeeKeeper
Site Admin

The Experiment, Queenless hive

Unread post by BadBeeKeeper »

I have two hives that I have been maintaining since 2011, my first hives and I am, perhaps, more sentimental about them than I should be. Despite my bungling they have managed to survive and I want the line to continue. The original two Carniolan queens are long gone but through swapping brood and raising queens I think the genetics have merged somewhat...although I'm not real sure because my bad beekeeping extends to lousy recordkeeping...in the beginning, with only two hives it was easy to keep everything in my head. Now, not so much.

Anyhow...the hive I call #1 was discovered to be queenless this spring, still a large population, just no queen and no brood. It is almost certainly -my- fault, I have completely lost track of how old the queen was, I know that hive had swarmed and it had a new queen then, but I cannot remember just exactly what year that was. It was too early for queens to be available here (from my usual supplier) and probably still too early to raise one and get it successfully mated. But, I didn't want to just let them die off without trying to do -something-.

So, I took a frame of brood from #2 and put it into #1, and stacked the boxes of #1 on top of #2, separated by an inner cover with the round feeding hole still open. The intention was to kinda sorta mimic the use of a Cloake board, which I do not happen to own. I was hoping to see some queen cells generated on the frame of brood that was now at the top of the stack, hopefully far enough away from the queen in the bottom boxes...but apparently not. Several days later I checked for cells and found none. Having other things to do with other bees, I did not bother with them further, there seemed to be no point in doing anything further with them at that time, I would get to them later.