Weight Loss

Off-topic discussion and public chitchat.
Countryboy
Forum Regular

Weight Loss

Unread post by Countryboy »

Allen, let me personally congratulate you on being willing to start working on your weight. Too many people simply lack any self-discipline. It also disgusts me how tv and the media try to normalize and condone being fat.

I've been outside the US before. While there are overweight people in every country, it is shocking to go to other countries and see tons of people who are not fat and then come back to America and see the obesity.

The older I get, the more concerned I am about my weight and fitness. When I graduated high school, I weighed 135 pounds. When I was 20, I was working 2 full-time jobs and fell asleep driving home and had a bad auto accident. My leg was crushed. I spent almost 8 months on crutches, and it really took a few years to really gain back my mobility and to be able to walk without limping. (I quit drinking alcohol when I was 20 also, 6 months before my accident, so I have never had to deal with alcohol affecting my weight.)

I used to smoke 2 packs of cigarettes a day. I quit smoking when I was 30.

I've never married, and I don't eat right. While I don't eat much fast food, I used to eat a lot of sandwiches and ice cream (my guilty pleasure) and pizza and I drank a 2 liter of Mt Dew every day.

By the time I was 34 or 35, I was pushing 165-170 pounds. My leg ached constantly. I was having to buy new jeans because the old ones were too small - I've never had to buy new jeans unless the old ones wore out.

Where I live, a couple uber rich college alumni donated the money for the college to build a $70 million athletic facility. One of the strings attached is that anyone in the community is allowed to also use the facility free of charge. So I got signed up and started hitting the gym once or twice a week for a few months. My weight didn't change at all.