beginner questions

A place for bee-ginners to ask questions and receive answers from experienced beekeepers.
Camcom

beginner questions

Unread post by Camcom »

First timer at this. Very excited. Hived my first bees on 4/21. I have been feeding them using a hive top feeder. When I went to check and add more syrup this morning, the little sweeties are building comb in the feeder. Is this normal? Can't seem to find this addressed in anything I have been reading.
Thanks.
Jiminycric
Forum Regular

Re: beginner questions

Unread post by Jiminycric »

Hi Camcom, new beekeeper here as well (04/22). I have a top feeder as well, but nothing as far as building comb in there. Is yours painted on the inside? I don't think it is normal to have that being built up in that feeder.

Jiminycric
- Jiminycric
Strathmore, Alberta
BadBeeKeeper
Site Admin

Unread post by BadBeeKeeper »

I hate to see your question going unanswered, but since I've never used one of those feeders I have no experience to draw from on the subject.
Countryboy
Forum Regular

Unread post by Countryboy »

You don't say what type of top feeder you are using. I am assuming (correct me if I am wrong) you are using the top feeder with the wooden floats. The bees climb up through the center of the feeder, and the syrup is on the sides.

You also are so vague that it is almost impossible to understand what you are describing. You leave out so much information that it isn't funny. (BTW, I have a blue truck - what size tires does it need?)
Hived my first bees on 4/21.
Was it a nuc, or a swarm or a package of bees? On foundationless frames, foundation, or on drawn comb. It makes a difference in understanding your situation.
the little sweeties are building comb in the feeder. Is this normal?
It's natural, but not what a beekeeper desires.
Is this normal? Can't seem to find this addressed in anything I have been reading.
Nope, it's not normal. But it happens.